Enhancing Student Number Sense

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Guided Math

on September 28, 2012

I just need to share one moment from Math centers and guided Math today. I was working with a small group (the students who hadn’t yet consistently demonstrated their understanding of increasing patterns), and began by modelling a pattern and describing the increasing rule. Next, I asked the students to copy the pattern, and make what would come next. As I talked with one student about how to make the pattern grow, she looked at me and said “Oh! Now I get it!”. While she hadn’t grasped the skill during whole class instruction, with this small group time, she had the opportunity to work with me and see exactly what I was doing to create and extend my pattern, and successfully copied my pattern and then created her own. One down, two more to go tomorrow! 🙂

3 responses to “Guided Math

  1. ferntouchie says:

    This makes me smile Patricia! Amazing what a little small group instruction or one on one can do to correct any misconceptions or to develop understanding of a concept. Keep it up!

  2. Tanya Smith says:

    This demonstrates perfectly how different students and their learning styles can be. Some students just do not learn well in a whole class setting. Fortunately, we have guided math and one-on-one instruction to catch these ones 🙂

  3. It’s always so powerful when students experience that “ah-ha” moment in small group activities!-Nicole

Leave a Reply

